New MusicNews

Nirvana reunites with Paul McCartney, record new song “Cut Me Some Slack”

on December 13, 2012, 5:22pm

mccartney beatles Nirvana reunites with Paul McCartney, record new song Cut Me Some Slack

The rumors were true: the surviving members of Nirvana — Dave Grohl and Krist Novoselic — reunited alongside Paul McCartney at the 12-12-12 Hurricane Sandy benefit concert at Madison Square Garden.

“So recently, some guys asked me to go and jam with them,” McCartney teased, before bringing out Grohl, Novoselic, and Nirvana’s unofficial fourth member Pat Smear. Casually, McCartney shrugged: “I finally understood that I was in the middle of a Nirvana reunion.” The four then dove straight into “Cut Me Some Slack”, a bluesy, sludgefest jam with traces of Nirvana and McCartney’s side-project The Fireman. Macca said it best following the four minute whirlwind: “Yep”.

According to a newly launched website, the song will appear on Sound City – Real to Reel, “music from and inspired by” Grohl’s forthcoming film Sound City. Watch footage of the performance below (via The Audio Perv), followed by a brief clip of the studio version.

Update: Grohl and Novoselic discussed the collaboration with Fuse, and you can watch the interview below.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Stewart W
December 14, 2012 at 2:02 pm

Full track list:

1. Heaven and All – Dave Grohl, Peter Hayes & Robert Levon Been
2. Time Slowing Down – Brad Wilk, Chris Goss, Dave Grohl & Tim Commerford
3. You Can’t Fix This – Dave Grohl, Rami Jaffee, Stevie Nicks, Taylor Hawkins
4. The Man That Never Was – Dave Grohl, Nate Mendel, Pat Smear, Rick Springfield & Taylor Hawkins
5. Your Wife Is Calling – Alain Johannes, Dave Grohl, Lee Ving, Pat Smear, Taylor Hawkins
6. From Can to Can’t – Corey Taylor, Dave Grohl, Rick Nielsen, Scott Reeder
7. Centipede – Alain Johannes, Chris Goss, Dave Grohl, Joshua Homme
8. A Trick With No Sleeve – Alain Johannes, Dave Grohl, Joshua Homme
9. Cut Me Some Slack – Paul McCartney, Dave Grohl, Krist Novoselic, Pat Smear
10. Once Upon a Time…The End – Dave Grohl, Jessy Greene, Jim Keltner, Rami Jaffee
11. Mantra – Dave Grohl, Joshua Homme, Trent Reznor


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,459 other followers