New MusicNews

Watch: Damon Albarn debut new song “Lonely Press Play”

on January 23, 2014, 4:46pm

Photo by Linda Brownlee

Damon Albarn‘s debut solo album Everyday Robots was announced just three days ago, but already we’ve heard two songs from it. First came the title track/lead single; it’s a haunting listen, built out of the same electro-folk elements heard on many of Albarn’s Gorillaz-era tracks. “Lonely Press Play”, which comes courtesy of a fan who filmed Albarn’s recent solo set at Sundance, is equally stunning, but for different reasons. It begins as a bare-bones acoustic song, but is soon filled out with piano and a string section. Beautiful doesn’t even begin to describe it, and that’s just based on an average YouTube recording. I can’t wait to see hear it, and the rest of the record for that matter, when it hits stores April 29th via Warner Bros. Records.

Everyday Robots Tracklist:
01. Everyday Robots
02. Hostiles
03. Lonely Press Play
04. Mr Tembo
05. Parakeet
06.The Selfish Giant
07. You and Me
08. Hollow Ponds
09. Seven High
10. Photographs (You Are Taking Now)
11. The History Of A Cheating Heart
12. Heavy Seas Of Love

No comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,845 other followers