New MusicNews

Listen: My Morning Jacket covers Jason Molina’s “Farewell Transmission”

on February 26, 2014, 5:11pm

Since Jason Molina’s passing last March, a number of commemorative albums have been released in honor of the Songs: Ohia mastermind. There was Graveface Records’ star-studded tribute LP featuring Phil Elverum, Will Oldham, and Mark Kozelek. Then, Secretly Canadian’s deluxe 10th anniversary reissue of the Songs: Ohia classic Magnolia Electric Co. Now comes Farewell Transmission: The Music of Jason Molina, a new collection of covers from My Morning Jacket, Murder By Death, Sarah Jaffe, and The Black Swans, among others.

Below, listen to My Morning Jacket’s contribution, a fuzzy rendition of “Farewell Transmission” that incorporates MMJ’s soaring psychedelics with Molina’s pastoral charm. Check it out.

Farewell Transmission: The Music of Jason Molina is due out April 22nd through non-profit imprint Rock the Cause.

Farewell Transmission: The Music of Jason Molina Tracklist:

Disc 1
01. “Get Out Get Out Get Out” – Squares
02. “Arm In Arm” – Memorial Electric Co
03. “Farewell Transmission” – My Morning Jacket
04. “Lioness” – Enemy Planes
05. “7th Street Wonderland” – Murder By Death
06. “Alone With The Owl” – Sarah Jaffe
07. “Old Black Hen” – Jonah Tolchin
08. “Leave This City” – Ben Lubeck of Farewell Milwaukee
09. “Two Blue Lights” – The Black Swans
10. “Almost Was Good Enough” – Bro Stephen feat. Jim James
11. “Didn’t It Rain” – Box Of Baby Birds
12. “Memphis Moon” – Cory Brana
13. “The Dark Don’t Hide It” – Gabriel Douglas feat. Drew Priener
14. “I’ve Been Riding With The Ghost” – Fathom Lane

Disc 2

01. “Trouble In Mind (Fade To Blue)” – Memorial Electric Co
02. “I Can Not Have Seen The Light” – Matt Bauer and Heather McEntire
03. “34 Blues” – Will Johnson and Briton Biesenherz
04. “Hammer Down” – Jim and Jennie & The Pinetops
05. “Just Be Simple” – Water Liars
06. “Steve Albini’s Blues” – Catherine Irwin
07. “White Sulfur” – Nathan Salsburg & Joan Shelley
08. “Don’t This Look Like The Dark” – Wooden Wand
09. “Hear My Heart Final” – Luke Redfield
10. “Lioness” – Viking Moses
11. “The Big Game Is Every Night” – Bottomless Pit
12. “Hold On Magnolia” – Communist Daughter
13. “John Henry Split My Heart” – Jonny James and The Hall of Fames


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

February 27, 2014 at 11:27 am

One of my fav songs ever. doesn’t approach the original but this is an excellent rendition.

Elliott McWhirter
February 26, 2014 at 7:48 pm

Man, this is fucking awesome. The original is it’s own special thing but this is fantastic too.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,829 other followers