Jim James, Marcus Mumford, Elvis Costello recording unreleased Bob Dylan lyrics

on March 25, 2014, 1:31pm

My Morning Jacket’s Jim James, Mumford and SonsMarcus Mumford, Elvis Costello, Dawes’ Taylor Goldsmith, Carolina Chocolate Drops’ Rhiannon Giddens, and T-Bone Burnett have teamed up to create music for two-dozen recently discovered lyrics written by Bob Dylan.

The lyrics in question date back to 1967, taken from the same period that spawned the recording of Dylan’s iconic Basement Tapes. The project, which has been executed with Dylan’s approval, will include a full-length studio album and accompanying documentary.

The album, dubbed Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes, will be released later this year through Electromagnetic Recordings/Harvest Records. The recording sessions, taking place at Los Angeles’ Capitol Studio, are being filmed for a Sam Jones-directed documentary, Lost Songs: The Basement Tapes Continued, which will air on Showtime.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

March 27, 2014 at 7:06 am

Oh my God please NO! Not Mumford! Argh.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,857 other followers