Album StreamsNew MusicNews

Stream: Pixies’ new album Head Carrier

on September 22, 2016, 10:16am

Alternative icons Pixies will release their sixth LP, Head Carrier, on September 30th. The record marks their second full-length since reuniting, following up on 2014’s Indie Cindy. Ahead of the official release date, the entire thing is streaming below via NPR.

Technically speaking, Head Carrier is actually the Boston band’s first true album since reforming in 2004; the songs on Indie Cindy were originally released on three separate EPs. The new effort also is their first with bassist Paz Lenchantin, who joined the band after Kim Deal’s original replacement, Kim Shattuck, was dismissed less than a year into her tenure. Lenchantin’s input is clearly felt on the album, as “All I Think About Now” features her singing lead on a song described as a “thank-you letter” to Deal.

(Read: The Highs and Lows of Pixies)

Produced by Tom Dalgety, Head Carrier sees the band’s sound reaching back to their heyday. “It has a bit of early Pixies slosh in it,” Black told the BBC 6 Music in an interview. “A certain amount of neatness. It’s definitely not as a Indie Cindy or a Trompe le Monde or whatever. It’s a little more a similar landscape, more like Doolittle I suppose.”

The album was previewed by singles “Um Chagga Lagga”, “Talent”, and “Tenement Song”. Pre-order the entire 12-track effort here, and listen to the stream below.

Pixies guitarist Joey Santiago recently entered rehab for drugs and alcohol, though the band has said their current European tour schedule will remain unaffected. However, the treatment “will affect some of the band’s planned promotional activities,” according to a press release. Find their current itinerary here.

Head Carrier Tracklist:
01. Head Carrier
02. Classic Masher
03. Baal’s Back
04. Might As Well Be Gone
05. Oona
06. Talent
07. Tenenement Song
08. Bel Esprit
09. All I Think About Now
10. Um Chagga Lagga
11. Plaster Of Paris
12. All The Saints

No comments