Thom Yorke spins three-hour, 42-song playlist on BBC Radio 1 — listen

on September 08, 2016, 12:05am

Radiohead frontman Thom Yorke co-hosted Benji B’s BBC Radio 1 on Wednesday night, presiding over three hours of music punctuated by periodic conversation between the hosts.

The set was predictably heavy on Radiohead, kicking off with “Daydreaming” off the band’s latest album A Moon Shaped Pool and segueing immediately into “Everything In Its Right Place”. The playlist also included Vince Staples (“That was great, man” Yorke said after hearing the song for the first time) and Girl Band (“This is me and my son’s favorite music at the moment”), along with songs from Frank Ocean, Death Grips, The Gaslamp Killer, and Sampha. He also debuted a brand new remix of MF DOOM’s “Gazillion Ear”.

Between songs, Yorke spoke on a variety of topics. Regarding Radiohead, he confirmed that the band will return to the road in 2017. He also intends to reconvene Atoms For Peace, his side-project with Flea, and has collaborated with Burial and Four Tet on new music.

Whatever project he does next, don’t expect the type of creative release methods employed in the past. After experimenting with a “pay-what-you-want” model for Radiohead’s In Rainbows and releasing his solo album Tomorrow’s Modern Boxes through Bittorrent, Yorke said he’s “getting too old” for such gimmicks.

“Enough of that now. I’ve entirely had enough of that,” Yorke said. “Just put it out, man. No more fuss, just put it out. I’m getting too old for that bit. It takes away from things a bit, sometimes frustrating.” He added, “The energy of trying to figure out how to do it differently and circumvent the monsters and you’re like… whatever.”

Also during the interview, Yorke offered some insights into his creative process. “I’ve always been open-minded when it comes to remixes,” he said after listening to Jamie XX’s reworking of Radiohead’s “Bloom”. “I like the idea that, you know, elements of what you do can get shredded and regurgitated and come back in different places.” Later, he reflected on Radiohead’s gradual transition from a straightforward rock band into a more electronic project: “It was a guitar band because that was the quickest, easiest solution .. It’s a much harder thing to be in a band if you’re using electronic instruments because it’s not exactly an interactive experience, so it’s always been a bit difficult. But it’s worth it.”

Listen in to all three hours of the set over at BBC Radio 1. Below, hear a standalone clip in which Yorke discusses his hesitation in doing further creative releases.

Radiohead – Daydreaming
Radiohead – Everything In It’s Right Place
Clams Casino – Blast
Burial – Truant
Radiohead – Bloom (Jamie XX Remix)
Abul Mogard – Half Light Of Dawn
Girl Band – Paul
Liquid Liquid – Optimo
Sampha – Blood On Me
Mark Ernestus’ Ndagga Rhythm Force – Yermande (Kick And Bass Mix)
James Blake feat. Vince Staples – Timeless (Remix)
Vince Staples feat. Andre 3000 – War Ready
Beautiful Swimmers – Joyride
Frank Ocean – Solo (Reprise)
Death Grips – Guillotine
Firefox & Glamour Gold – Check Da Skills
Quasimoto – Goodmorning Sunshine
BadBadNotGood – Lavender
Christoph de Babalon – Scylla’s Night Out
The Gaslamp Killer – Residual Tingles
Scott Walker – Opening
Scott Walker – Dream Sequence
Cocteau Twins – But I’m Not
Atoms For Peace – Reverse Running
Thom Yorke – There Is No Ice (For My Drink)
Cliff Lothar – Running Out of Time
C/OR – Bells Walking
Shabazz Palaces – Dawn in Luxor
Abul Mogard – Despite Faith
Pye Corner Audio – Ways Regained
Zomby – Thaw
2 Bad Mice – Limit Of Paradise
Radiohead – Idioteque
Mark Pritchard feat Thom Yorke – Beautiful People
Flying Lotus – Coronus the Terminator
Flying Lotus feat. Thom Yorke – And the World Laughs With You
MF DOOM – Gazilli Remix
Laurie Spiegel – Patchwork
J Dilla – Say My Name
J Dilla – First Time
Radiohead – The Numbers