About Us

Consequence of Sound (CoS) is a Chicago-based online music publication devoted to the ever growing and always thriving worldwide music scene. Since its inception in 2007, CoS has reported on all of music’s breaking news, in addition to hyping new artists and cracking highly anticipated lineups for music festivals across the globe. With a committed staff of just over 50 writers, editors, graphic designers, and photographers, CoS continues to successfully push its way ahead of the engaging and highly competitive new media market.

Consequence of Sound was crowned About.com’s Best Music Blog of 2010Technorati’s Most Influential Music Blog, and Style of Sound’s No. 2 Most Influential Music Blog.

Consequence of Sound is featured on Metacritic and Time Entertainment.

If you’re interested in advertising, click here. If you’re interested in submitting your music for review, send mp3s and/or links here. If you’re a publicist looking to send us stuff, click here. For anything else, please click here. Consequence of Sound staff members are also available for radio and television interviews. For all media inquiries, please click here.


CEO & Publisher:
Alex Young

President & Editor-in-Chief:
Michael Roffman


Managing Editor:
Adam Kivel

Senior Editors:
Matt Melis

Associate Editors:
Sasha Geffen
Michael Madden

Contributing Editor:
Philip Cosores

News Editor:
Chris Coplan

Asst. News Editor:
Ben Kaye

New Music Editor:
Michelle Geslani

News Writers:
Josh Terry
Dusty Henry


Director of Marketing and Sales:
Dan Pfleegor

Digital Marketing Specialist:
Jay Gentile


Senior Staff Writers:
Steven Arroyo
Dan Caffrey
Len Comaratta
Philip Cosores
Nick Freed
Justin Gerber
Jon Hadusek
Tony Hardy
Paula Mejia
Frank Mojica
Zach Schonfeld
Derek Staples

Staff Writers:
Corinne Bagish
Ryan Bray
Randall Colburn
Dean Essner
Katherine Flynn
Henry Hauser
Will Hagle
Brian Josephs
Bryant Kitching
Pat Levy
Kristofer Lenz
Dominick Mayer
Sheldon Pearce
Dan Pfleegor
Lior Phillips
Zander Porter
Julian Ring
Christina Salgado
Josh Terry
Caitlin White
Sam Willett


Video Director:
Sami Jarroush

Alec Basse
Ryan Chun
Brandon Danzyger
Rachel Delehanty
Jillian Moore
Ben Petty
Emma Porter


Director of Aux.Out.:
Philip Cosores


Art Director:
Cap Blackard

Assistant Art Director:
Steven Fiche

Art Contributors:
Kailyn Boehm
Kristin Frenzel
Dmitri Jackson
Jacob Livengood
Virginia McCarthy
Matthew Vidalis


Director of Human Resources:
Matt Melis


Events Coordinator:
Michael Zonenashvili


Contributing Photographers:
Robert Altman
Debi Del Grande
David Hall
Heather Kaplan
Ted Maider
Joshua Mellin
Cathy Poulton
Wei Shi
Nate Slevin


Stevie Dunbar
Kevin McMahon

Doejo is the creator of this website. Mondial Creative Labs designed the Consequence of Sound logo. Wasp Mobile designed the Consequence of Sound mobile app.

All content and opinions appearing on the site are intellectual property of Consequence of Sound.