The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

The Stones Roses reissue The Stone Roses

on May 08, 2009, 9:05am

Reunions take a lot of work. Reissues do not. So, given all the hoopla of late, perhaps it make sense that for the foreseeable future, The Stone Roses have chosen to stick with the latter. On August 11th, Ian Brown and Co. will celebrate the 20th anniversary of the band’s self-titled debut with a reissue, and a pretty stellar one at that. According to Pitchfork, The Stone Roses will be available in three packages:

  • Single CD “Special Edition” featuring original album, remastered by Brown and producer John Leckie.  It contains the original album as well as with the full-length version of “Fools Gold”.
  • Three-disc “Legacy Edition” featuring original album plus a bonus disc of demos, and the Live in Blackpool concert film, shot in 1989.
  • “Collectors Edition” featuring all of the above plus three LPs containing the original album and 13 non-album track, a 2 GB USB drive shaped like a lemon containing “all the audio, promo videos, ringtones, wallpapers, plus previously unseen John Leckie home video footage of the recording of ‘Fool’s Gold’,” a book featuring original artwork and photographs, and six art prints painted by guitarist John Squire for the covers of the album’s singles.

Remind me why The Stone Roses are still adored?

The Stone Roses Tracklist:
01. I Wanna Be Adored
02. She Bangs the Drums
03. Waterfall
04. Don’t Stop
05. Bye Bye Bad Man
06. Elizabeth My Dear
07. (Song for My) Sugar Spun Sister
08. Made of Stone
09. Shoot You Down
10. This Is the One
11. I Am the Resurrection
12. Fools Gold

The Lost Demos Tracklist:
01. I Wanna Be Adored
02. She Bangs the Drums
03. Waterfall
04. Bye Bye Badman
05. Sugar Spun Sister
06. Shoot You Down (1 version)
07. This Is the One
08. I Am Resurrection
09. Elephant Stone
10. Going Down
11. Mersey Paradise
12. Where Angels Play
13. Something’s Burning
14. One Love
15 Pearl Bastard

The B-Sides & Non Album Singles Tracklist:
01. Elephant Stone
02. Full Fathom Five
03. The Hardest Thing
04. Going Down
05. Guernica
06. Mersey Paradise
07. Standing Here
08. Simone
09. Fools Gold
10. What the World Is Waiting For
11. One Love (Full Length)
12. Something’s Burning (Full Length)
13. Where Angels Play

No comments