Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Update: Whoah… new DOOM EP to feature production from Thom Yorke, Dave Sitek

on November 09, 2009, 1:05pm

Update: EP is basically just remixes. Find Tracklist below (via P4k):

DOOM (once referred to as MF Doom, Vaudeville Villain, Viktor Vaughn, and so on) has been rather busy of late. After a brief absence of DOOM related material, the man hit us with his latest proper record Born Like This, which we rather liked. Then came news of a forthcoming Madvillain followup, immediately followed by the release of a mixtape called Unexpected Guests. But, even with all of these recent undertakings, there’s more coming.

What, you ask?  Well, according to Drowned in Sound, we can look forward to a new DOOM EP by the end of the year. The EP, entitled Gazillion Ear, gives us a few reasons to be excited about it. First, the album will feature production from the likes of Thomas Edward Yorke. You know, the guy from that little band called Radiohead. Given Yorke’s awesome remix of the EP’s title track, his contribution should be pretty stellar. However, this could also be misleading, since the remix of “Gazzillion Ear” could be the only Yorke related track on the EP. But perhaps hope comes with news that TV  on the Radio’s Dave Sitek will also have a hand in the matter. I’m gunning for wholly new contributions from both. Anyways, from the press release:

“Masked maverick DOOM (previously known as MF Doom) is set to release his new GAZZILLION EAR EP this December. The record includes production by Radiohead frontman and longtime DOOM fan Thom Yorke, the much-missed J Dilla, psychedelic hip-hop artist Jneiro Jarel and TV On The Radio lynchpin Dave Sitek. The EP follows DOOM’s earlier BORN LIKE THIS album opus – one of the hip-hop highlights of 2009.”

So DOOM is really going all out with this one. With all of this talent in tow, the thing should be pretty stacked. Hopefully it’ll live up to they hype.

Here’s the EP’s title track, which can be found on Born Like This:

The Thom Yorke Remix:

Gazzillion Ear Tracklist EP:
01. Gazzillion Ear
02. Gazzillion Ear (Thom Yorke Remix)
03. Gazzillion Ear (Dr WHo Dat? Remix)
04. Gazzillion Ear (Jneiro Jarel/SITEK Remix)
05. Gazzillion Ear (Acappella)
06. Gazzillion Ear (Instrumental)
07. Gazzillion Ear (Thom Yorke Remix) (Instrumental)
08. Gazzillion Ear (Dr WHo Dat? Remix) (Instrumental)
09. Gazzillion Ear (Jneiro Jarel/SITEK Remix) (Instrumental)
10. Green Whore Net (bonus beat)
11. Feta (scratch samples)
12. Kat Girl (bonus)

No comments