The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

Zeus strikes with full-length debut next year

on November 26, 2009, 10:45am

Toronto rockers Zeus are the latest much-hyped indie outfit to follow up a highly acclaimed stint at last month’s CMJ Music Marathon by announcing the release of its full-length debut; Say Us will be available through Arts & Crafts Records in February. But unlike the others, Zeus won’t be going about it in typical fashion. “As a salute to the inspiration and aesthetic of the band’s sound,” an issued press release explains, the 12-track debut will be available exclusively in-stores on 180 gram 12” vinyl, starting February 9, 2010, two full weeks prior to its official release on CD, February 23, 2010.

Adding to their creative marketing, the digital version of Say Us has come directly from the vinyl pressing, giving fans the format’s sound quality in MP3. The album was produced by band members Mike O’Brien and Carlin Nicholson in their hometown studio and mixed by Robbie Lackritz, who has also previously worked with Feist.

The band itself started as a backing group for Toronto songwriter Jason Collett in studio and on tour. Featuring three singer/songwriters who swap between guitar, bass, and organ, Zeus released its debut EP, Sound Like Zeus, this past June. Garnering critical acclaim from the Canadian press, the EP contained the song “How Does It Feel”, which was featured in a national Nissan commercial and appears on Say Us as well.

Say Us Tracklist:
01. How Does It Feel?
02. Fever Of The Time
03. Kindergarten
04. The Renegade
05. Great Times On The Wayside
06. River By The Garden
07. You Gotta Tell’er
08. I Know
09. Marching Through Your Head
10. The Sound Of You
11. Heavy On Me
12. At The Risk Of Repeating

No comments