The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

Holly Miranda announces debut LP

on December 29, 2009, 11:00am

Following in the wake of her debut EP, Sleep on Fire, singer/songwriter Holly Miranda has announced plans for her first ever full-length, The Magician’s Private Party, which is set to release February 23, 2010.

Available on XL Recordings, the 10 track album was produced by Dave Sitek and includes contributions from Sitek, Kyp Malone and Jaleel Bunton of TV On The Radio, Eric Biondo and Stuart Bogie of Antibalas, and Marques Toliver, Holly’s violionist.

In a recent interview with Paste Magazine, Holly Miranda gave a little info on her debut album. Some of the songs from The Magician’s Private Library have been out for almost a year, but don’t think that takes away from the album’s value. In fact, it just adds much more to it. Miranda described the record as “…a record that I’ve been trying to make for 11 years, so it was worth it to do it right.”

When asked about the many songs that speak of sleeping and dreaming, Miranda stated a lot of it is attributed to her being a very vivid and at times lucid dreamer. She also cited her newfound influence of The Spiritual Journey of Alejandro Jodorowsky, which she discovered whilst recording the album. She went into more detail on Jodororwsky and touched on how his work was really “speaking to her”.

Then of course, there’s Miranda’s love for the brass. Brass plays a big part on the album; a majority of the songs have a splatter of horns here and there. Not too much, but just enough. Miranda even played a bit of trumpet herself on her demo track, “Sweet Dreams”. The rest of the tracks sport work by Stuart Bogie and Eric Biando, both of Antibalas.

Be sure to pick up the album February 23, 2010; you’ll be happy you did.

magicians Holly Miranda announces debut LP

The Magician’s Private Party Tracklist:
01. Forest Green Oh Green Forest *
02. Joints *
03. Waves *
04. No I Just Is *
05. Slow Burn Treason
06. Sweet Dreams
07. Everytime I Go To Sleep
08. High Tide
09. Canvas
10. Sleep on Fire

* = Songs that are currently available for listen on her MySpace.

No comments