The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

Sigur Rós’ Jónsi Birgisson a Go for solo debut

on December 07, 2009, 10:45am

Aside from a few lists, Sigur Rós has been out of the limelight since the release of 2008’s Með suð í eyrum við spilum endalaust. A direct consequence of this reality will be seen on March 23rd when the Icelandic outfit’s frontman will become the latest high-profile indie rocker to go solo.

XL Recordings will have the honors of releasing Jónsi Birgisson‘s solo debut, a nine-track effort titled simply Go. The effort will include contributions from composer Nico Muhly (Björk, Grizzly Bear), who arranged the whole damn thing!, as well as his Riceboy Sleeps partner Alex Somers, Peter Katis (The National, Interpol), and Samuli Kosminen (múm). Oh, and it’s also probably worth noting that Birgisson will be singing primarily in English, so you’ll also finally be able to understand the words accompanying the beautiful music.

A world tour announcement is still forthcoming. In the meantime, check out the album’s song “Boy Lilikoi” at the musician’s website. Tracklist follows.

Go Tracklist:
01. Go Do
02. Animal Arithmetic
03. Tornado
04. Boy Lilikoi
05. Sinking Friendships
06. Kolnidur
07. Grow Till Tall
08. Around Us
09. Hengilas

No comments