Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

The Besnard Lakes prepare for bombastic third record

on December 11, 2009, 10:45am

While St. Nicholas prepares to dominate the rest of this winter wonderland of 2009, Canada is eagerly looking forward to the spring of next year. Montreal’s own progressive indie rock aficionados, The Besnard Lakes, have been very busy in their own musical laboratory conjuring up what will be the French Canadian duo’s third record. Entitled The Besnard Lakes Are The Roaring Night, guitarist Jace Lasek and his wife Olga Goreas promise an epic tale of bombastic guitar work intertwined with the charm of marvelous wit and over the top pursuit. With a release set for March 9th of next year, this sounds to be the best action movie plotline penned in music of all time:

On March 9th of 2010 (March 8th in the UK), Jagjaguwar will release The Besnard Lakes Are the Roaring Night, a twisting chronicle of spies, double agents, novelists and aspiring rock gods turned violent. Loyalty, dishonor, love, and hatred are all seen through the eyes of two spies, communicating through short wave in code and fighting a war that may or may not be real.

Topping off this larger-than-life description, it turns out that the duo’s third record was recorded on a vintage 1968 Neve germanium console previously used to engineer the Hammers of the Gods, Led Zeppelin’s epic Physical Graffiti. Do these guys know how to party or what?

Not to be outdone, on February 9th, the lead single “Albatross” will be released on vinyl with the B-Side “Four Long Lines”. What promises to be an incendiary send up of the Stevie Nicks led Fleetwood Mac-era can only quench our thirst for so long. Come the first weeks of spring, expect this record to be everywhere in what I’d like to call “the tens.” Epic much? That’s the way we like it.

jag126full 13 The Besnard Lakes prepare for bombastic third record

The Besnard Lakes Are The Roaring Night tracklist:
01. Like The Ocean, Like The Innocent; Pt. 1: The Ocean
02. Like The Ocean, Like The Innocent; Pt. 2: The Innocent
03. Chicago Train
04. Albatross
05. Glass Printer
06. Land of Living Skies; Pt. 1: The Land
07. Land of Living Skies; Pt. 2: The Living Skies
08. And This is What We Call Progress
09. Light Up The Night
10. The Lonely Moan

No comments