The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

Caribou to Swim towards new album in April

on January 25, 2010, 1:20pm

Canadian electronic musician Daniel Victor Snaith aka Caribou is ready to give the world the next step in his psych-pop exploration. Titled Swim, his fifth studio album will be released on April 20th through Merge (in North America) and City Slang (UK and Europe).

So what can be expected from the follow-up to his Polaris Music Prize winning record Andorra? How about a couple of guest stars? Those appearing on Swim include a quartet of Toronto free-jazz horn players and Born Ruffians’ Luke Lalonde, who sings on the closer “Jamelia”.

Snaith, who split recording the album between Wales and Junior Boy Jeremy Greenspan’s Ontario studio, said about his latest work, “I got excited by the idea of making dance music that’s liquid in the way it flows back and forth, the sounds slosh around in pitch, timbre, pan… Dance music that sounds like it’s made out of water, rather than made out of metallic stuff like most dance music does.”

If you can’t wait until April, you can grab the album’s opener for the price of an email address at his official website.

swim Caribou to Swim towards new album in April

Swim Tracklist:
01. Odessa
02. Sun
03. Kaili
04. Found Out
05. Bowls
06. Leave House
07. Hannibal
08. Lalibela
09. Jamelia

No comments