The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

New Hendrix album features unreleased studio material

on January 11, 2010, 11:30am

Continuing with what will be a popular theme in 2010, the family of the late Jimi Hendrix has announced a new album from the fallen superstar. Due out March 9th, Valleys of Neptune will include 12 tracks recorded at various studios during Hendrix’s final recording sessions while working on his posthumously completed First Rays of the Rising Sun, Rolling Stone reports.

Highlighting the effort will be its title track, which was said to be unearthed nearly 40 years after it was recorded at Hendrix’s final sessions. Covers of “Bleeding Heart” and Cream’s “Sunshine of Your Love,” plus rerecorded versions of “Fire”, “Red House” and “Stone Free” are also set to be included.

“My brother Jimi was at home in the studio. Valleys of Neptune offers deep insight into his mastery of the recording process and demonstrates the fact that he was as unparalleled a recording innovator as he was a guitarist,” explains Janie Hendrix. “His brilliance shines through on every one of these precious tracks.”

The family also intends to reissue all the Jimi Hendrix Experience’s studio albums, 1967’s Smash Hits, and the 1997 release of First Rays of the Rising Sun in the months ahead. The releases will be packaged with a documentary by Beatles Anthology director Bob Smeaton and will feature interviews with the Experience’s Mitch Mitchell, Noel Redding, and producers Chas Chandler and Eddie Kramer.

Of course, all this will follow a previously announced new Hendrix live album, tribute tour, and fictionalized film. 2010 marks the 40th anniversary of the death of the acclaimed musician.

Valleys of Neptune Tracklist:
01. Stone Free
02. Valleys Of Neptune
03. Bleeding Heart
04. Hear My Train A Comin’
05. Mr. Bad Luck
06. Sunshine Of Your Love
07. Lover Man
08. Ships Passing Through The Night
09. Fire
10. Red House
11. Lullaby For The Summer
12. Crying Blue Rain’

No comments