The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

The New Pornographers get Together for new album

on January 21, 2010, 9:56am

It’s about time: The New Pornographers will return this May 4th for the long-awaited followup to 2007’s Challengers. And boy, did they go all out! Titled Together, the band’s fifth full-length was produced by the band and Phil Palazzolo, and recorded in Vancouver, Brooklyn, Woodstock, and Catskill, NY. It consists of 12 tracks (nine by A.C. Newman and three by Dan Bejar), all of which feature the full eight-person lineup of Newman, Bejar, John Collins, Neko Case, Kurt Dahle, Kathryn Calder, Todd Fancey, and Blaine Thurier. Plus, there are several high-profile guest contributors, including Annie Clark (St. Vincent), Zach Condon (Beirut), Will Sheff (Okkervil River), and the Dap-Kings Horns. Yeah, woah.

The release will be offered on Matador Records. “It’s amazing, more varied, deeper, and broader than its predecessors,” they say of the album. A mp3 preview is promised soon. In the meantime, there are over 100 photos from the recent recording photos now available for viewing on the band’s newly designed website.

We should also note that Mr. Newman will be joining Ted Leo, Jimmy Fallon, and others at Brooklyn’s the Bell House tomorrow night for a Haiti Benefit Concert. More info here.

together The New Pornographers get Together for new album

No comments