Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Marco Benevento continues musical experimentation with third release

on February 18, 2010, 3:30pm

In his earlier work with The Benevento Russo Duo, Marco Benevento created an implausible wall of sound playing a Hammond B-3 organ, Wurlitzer, and a vast collection of circuit-bent toys. After parting ways with Joe Russo and forming his own trio, Benevento has shifted focus to an acoustic piano. With each new recording he re-imagines the limits of his piano by using guitar pick-ups, amplifiers, and a myriad pedals to create textures and depth unique to his creations.

This personal and musical evolution continues with the upcoming release of Between Needles & Nightfall. The project was initially conceived during a three-day session in Brooklyn, NY, with bassist Reed Mathis and drummer Andrew Barr and was tracked by acclaimed Pavement sound engineer Bryce Goggin. This initial work was then transferred to Benevento’s home studio, where he overdubbed the piece with various electronic keyboards, added drum parts by powerhouse session-drummer Matt Chamberlain, and took two months to cut, loop, and shape the pieces into full-fledged songs. To add another perspective, the tracks were sent to three of Benevento’s favorite engineers: Mell Dettmer, Jesse Lauter (Low Anthem, Elvis Perkins), and Vid Cousins (Amon Tobin, Kid Koala) for final mixes.

For this long-time fan of Benevento’s work, including side projects Garage A Trois and Surprise Me Mr. Davis, intrigue is starting to build for a work that is reported to range from day-glo electro-rock to a simply stated lullaby, and is filled with limitless horizons of sound and melody. Currently, a release date is planned for May 11 from Benevento’s own Royal Potato Family records. The tracklisting follows, but as of now there is no word on an upcoming tour to promote the album, except two events scheduled for March and June. As more news or singles become available, check back because Marco Benevento, with his circuit-bent TVs and See ‘N Says is a sight not to be missed.

Between Needles & Nightfall Tracklist:
01. Two Of You
02. Johnny Largo
03. Greenpoint
04. Goldfish
05. Flying Cars
06. Building Cakes
07. You Know I’m No Good
08. It Came From You
09. You’re Going To Have A Good Day
10. RISD
11. Music Is Still Secret

Marco Benevento Trio 2010 Tour Dates:
03/02 - Poughkeepsie, NY @ Rose Parlor Room
06/18 – Ghent, NY @ Let it Roll Festival

No comments