The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

Roky Erickson prepares first new album in over a decade

on February 13, 2010, 11:00am

At 62 years old, Roky Erickson, the former frontman of the 13th Floor Elevators, has done and seen a lot. So it must mean a lot when the veteran reaches out to Okkervil River to back up his brand of psychedelic rock. Well, that win-win combination’s work on Erickson’s first new album in over 10 years, True Love Cast Out All Evil, is getting a little closer to being a reality with a recently announced tracklist.

Said tracklist, which comes in at a comparatively slim 12 songs, was dwindled down from an astonishing 60 tracks. Okkervil River’s Will Sheff said the archival songs are from throughout Erickson’s life, from his beginnings in the Elevators to recordings from his time spent at an asylum for the criminally insane following a drug-related arrest in the ’70s.

“When we started out, I was given sixty unreleased songs to choose from. There were songs written during business setbacks including the Elevators’ painful breakup, songs written by Roky while he was incarcerated at Rusk, and a great deal of songs that reminded me of the sense of optimism and romanticism that I think sustained Roky through his worst years and ultimately reunited him, a few years ago, with his son Jegar and his first wife Dana,” explained Sheff in an issued press release.

True Love Cast Out All Evil is available April 20th via ANTI-.

rory Roky Erickson prepares first new album in over a decade

True Love Cast Out All Evil Tracklist:
1. Devotional Number One
2. Ain’t Blues Too Sad
3. Goodbye Sweet Dreams
4. Be and Bring Me Home
5. Bring Back the Past
6. Please Judge
7. John Lawman
8. True Love Cast Out All Evil
9. Forever
10. Think Of As One
11. Birds’d Crash
12. God Is Everywhere

No comments