Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Sage Francis tackles Li(f)e itself on new album

on February 10, 2010, 9:05am

If you’re poet/rapper Sage Francis, you’re not happy talking about women and illicit substances. No, you want to understand the very meaning of why you’re here and what this thing we call life is truly all about. The MC does just that, with the help from a few friends, on his new album, Li(f)e.

For you linguists out there, the title is an amalgamation of the words “life” and “lie”, two huge topics that Francis goes on to tackle heavily. And, as Prefix Magazine reports, it’s also a reference to some lyrics from the Non-Prophets song “The Cure”; now you know.

Putting it all together, the Rhode Island native tapped a backing band of producer Brian Deck (Iron and Wine, Modest Mouse) and Califone’s Jim Becker and Tim Rutili. As for those famous friends and guests, the list is just as impressive. Former Grandaddy frontman Jason Lytle laid down the instrumentals on “Houdini”, while Death Cab for Cutie’s Chris Walla produced “Three Sheets To The Wind.” Also joining in on the lighter than air musical meditations of God and hypocrisy are Sparklehorse’s Mark Linkous and members of Calexico. Jay-Z-esque!

So far not much in the way of shows lined up, but we’ll let you know about any tour dates once they’re announced. Li(f)e is scheduled to be released on May 11th via Anti Records.

Li(f)e Tracklist:
01. Little Houdini
02. Three Sheets To The Wind
03. I Was Zero
04. Slow Man
05. Diamonds And Pearls
06. Polterzeitgeist
07. The Baby Stays
08. 16 Years
09. Worry Not
10. London Bridge
11. Love The Lie
12. The Best Of Times