Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Kanye West’s music turned into baby lullabies

on April 16, 2010, 1:20pm

In news you really couldn’t make up if you tried, the sounds of Kanye West will soon be singing your child to sleep. Creepy? Probably. For real? Yes, indeed.

You may be familiar with the children’s music label Rockabye Baby, which has previously transformed the music of The Beatles, Metallica, AC/DC, Coldplay, The Cure, and Led Zeppelin into lullabies. Well, come May 18th, they’ll be doing the same to ol’ Kanye West.

“We usually just ‘lullaby’ rock classics, but we’re fans of many different styles of music, so we wanted to branch out,” explained Rockabye Baby Vice President Lisa Roth in an issued press release. “We wanted to do another artist who transcended genres, whose music reached fans of rap, rock, pop – everyone. Of course, we thought of Kanye and that’s how our first ‘Rap-a-bye Baby’ was born.”

Added Leo Flynn, the album’s producer: “Kanye brings together so many popular styles and creates a really modern kind of soul music… So the challenge was to translate, into a lullaby, the key elements of that vibe. And there is so much to latch on to in Kanye’s music – from the charisma of his tracks to his musicality and candidness as a performer – we knew there had to be a way.”

If you’re looking for a saving grace in all this, then perhaps it’s the fact none of the lullabies will feature Ye’s vocals. Instead, the album’s 12 tracks, which include “Homecoming”, “Jesus Walks”, and “Stronger”, will all be presented in the instrumental variety. Either way, this still totally makes for the best news of the day!

Currently, you can listen to snippets of the album here.

Rockabye Baby! Lullaby Renditions of Kanye West Tracklist:
01. Good Morning
02. Gold Digger
03. Stronger
04. Good Life
05. Heartless
06. Touch the Sky
07. Jesus Walks
08. All Falls Down
09. Love Lockdown
10. Through the Wire
11. Hey Mama
12. Homecoming

No comments