Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Major Lazer drops La Roux-featuring mixtape

on May 26, 2010, 9:05am

Diplo loves the ladies. In 2004, he and M.I.A joined forces in the recording studio to create the Piracy Funds Terrorism Vol. 1 mixtape. The two entangled M.I.A’s lyrics, from the then-yet-to-be released Arular, around Diplo’s choice of dub-heavy hip-hop beats. Four years later, Diplo would repeat the feat with fresh-out the blogosphere Santigold on Top Priority. Most recently, he has kept his dance-pop confidantes nearby, utilizing their talents for his on-going Switch collaboration, Major Lazer.

The duo have now hooked up with La Roux to provide a much needed mid-week boost. To protect the vocal abilities of La Roux’s Elly Jackson, Major Lazer ordered she be upgraded from “Bulletproof” to Lazerproof. Diplo and Switch eagerly agreed, recently traveling to Jamaica to put the tape together. La Roux’s singles vary greatly from the releases of M.I.A and Santigold, but the humid evenings of Jamaica may be the only suitable environment to fuse synth-pop beats with caribbean dance-hall. Head over to Mad Decent to download the tape free, and judge for yourself.

The mix features dub-extraordinaire Rusko, Amanda Blank, and previously released verses by Drake and Gucci Mane. A complete detailed tracklisting follows. May your humpday now be filled with desk shaking beats.

Update: Mad Decent’s server crashed, so you can download the mixtape here in the meantime.

Lazerproof Tracklist:
01. Bulletproof (Nacey Remix) (feat. Matt Hemerlein)
02. Colourless Artibella
03. I’m Not Your Lemonade + Heroes ‘N’ Villains Remix (feat. Gucci Mane)
04. Independent Kill (feat. Candi Redd)
05. Keep It Fascinating
06. Magic (Falling Soldiers Dub)
07. In 4 the Kill Pon De Skream (feat. Drake)
08. Houstatlantavegas Pains
09. Tigerlily (DYWHAP Blend) (feat. Rusko)
10. Can’t Stop Now (Armor Love Remix)
11. Quicksand (Mad Decent 2010 Rerub) (feat. Amanda Blank)
12. Cover My Eyes (Costra Nostra Edit)
13. I Said It (Major Lazer Dubplate) (feat. Opal)
14. Hold Yuh (Double Dubplate) (feat. Gyptian)

No comments