The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Mercury Prize 2010 nominees announced

on July 20, 2010, 8:09am

In the same vein as Canada’s Polaris Award, the Mercury Prize is an annual competition that selects the year’s best album by an artist from the United Kingdom or Ireland.

A list of 12 long, this year’s nominees include both much hyped newcomers (The xx, Mumford & Sons, Villagers) as well as some familiar faces (Paul Weller, Laura Marling, Foals). Also up for contention is Dizee Rascal, Biffy Clyro, Corinne Bailey Rae, I Am Kloot, Wild Beasts, and Villagers.

The winner will be announced at a ceremony at London’s Grosvenor Park Hotel on September 7th. In addition to the inevitable boost in album sales, said winner will also take home £20,000.

A complete list of the Mercury Prize 2010 contenders and the respective name of their albums is as followed:

Biffy Clyro – Only Revolutions
Corinne Bailey Rae – The Sea
Dizzee Rascal – Tongue N’ Cheek
Kit Downes Trio – Golden
Foals – Total Life Forever
I Am Kloot – Sky At Night
Laura Marling – I Speak Because I Can
Mumford & Sons – Sigh No More
Paul Weller – Wake Up the Nation
Villagers – Becoming A Jackal
Wild Beasts – Two Dancers
The xx – xx