Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Stornoway brings Beachcomber’s Windowsill to America

on July 20, 2010, 9:05am

British indie folk newcomers Stornoway have announced plans to drop their debut album Beachcomber’s Windowsill in the United States on August 10th (via 4AD). The album has already been released across the pond in the UK, peaking at No. 14 in the album chart.

The band does not, despite the name, hail from Scotland. They are, in fact, from Oxford, England. They could also be the most booksmart outfit working in music today. How many lineups can boast members with a masters degree, a Russian translator and a PhD who was once an editorial assistant on Renal Monthly and Neuropathology Now?

As for the actual music? Their brand of indie-folk has been likened to Belle & Sebastian, Mystery Jets, and XTC amongst others, with their sound being called “gently powerful yet forlorn, their melodies imbued with a melancholy essence.” Essentially, Stornoway combines elements of American bluegrass with those all too familiar British pop melodies.

While we wait on the official US release of the debut album, the first mp3 from the album, “Zorbing”, can be downloaded below. There’s also a full-length stream available while we wait for the big day in August.

Check Out:

Beachcomber’s Windowsill Tracklist:
01. Zorbing
02. I Saw You Blink
03. Fuel Up
04. The Coldharbour Road
05. Boats And Trains
06. We Are The Battery Human
07. Here Comes The Blackout…!
08. Watching Birds
09. On The Rocks
10. The End Of The Movie
11. Long-Distance Lullaby

No comments