The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

Depeche Mode prep Tour of the Universe DVD

on September 21, 2010, 9:45am

Update: The DVD release has been confirmed. Scroll below to see complete tracklist.

From May 6th, 2009 until February 27th, 2010, English electronic behemoths Depeche Mode were on a “Tour of the Universe” — or close to it — in support of the band’s 12th studio album Sounds of the Universe. Dave Gahan and company played a whopping 102 shows across four continents, all while Gahan dealt with everything from a low-grade malignant tumor to a torn calf muscle.

Amongst the 102 dates and various hospital trips were back-to-back shows in Barcelona, Spain on November 20th and 21st at Palau Sant Jordi. These shows will form the basis of the band’s forthcoming concert film Tour of the Universe, Barcelona, which is rumored to be receiving a November 8th release, according to fansite Home. The details of the release allegedly come from a leaked EMI email (via our good friends Slicing Up Eyeballs).

The release is said to be available in various configurations, and will feature a full concert, a 40-minute documentary, Anton Corbijn’s on-stage backdrop films, a 16-page booklet, and the official promo videos for the four singles taken from Sounds of the Universe “Wrong”, “Peace”, “Fragile Tension”, and “Hole to Feed”. How each package differs in terms of content is not yet known.

Also said to be in the works is a new remix album from Depeche Mode. Details are again limited, but according to Home’s “source”, the band commissioned the project for next year. The release would mark Depeche Mode’s first compilation of mixes since 2004’s Remixes 81-04 set.

Stay tuned for more updates on these releases and anything else Depeche Mode might offer — reunion cough cough — in the months ahead.

Tour of the Universe – Barcelona Tracklist:
01. In Chains
02. Wrong
03. Hole To Feed
04. Walking In My Shoes
05. It’s No Good
06. A Question Of Time
07. Precious
08. Fly On The Windscreen
09. Jezebel
10. Home
11. Come Back
12. Policy Of Truth
13. In Your Room
14. I Feel You
15. Enjoy The Silence
16. Never Let Me Down Again
17. Dressed In Black
18. Stripped
19. Behind The Wheel
20. Personal Jesus
21. Waiting For The Night

Bonus tracks
22. World In My Eyes (20th)
23. Sister Of Night (21st)
24. Miles Away / The Truth Is (20th)
25. One Caress (20th)

01. Inside The Universe: Tour documentary

Tour Of The Universe / Screens
02. In Chains
03. Walking In My Shoes
04. Precious
05. Come Back
06. Policy Of Truth
07. Enjoy The Silence
08. Personal Jesus

Tour Of The Universe / Rehearsals
09. Wrong
10. Walking In My Shoes

Bonus tracks
11. Insight
12. Hole To Feed
13. Behind The Wheel
14. Never Let Me Down Again

Sounds Of The Universe – Videos
15. Wrong
16. Peace
17. Hole To Feed
18. Fragile Tension

No comments