New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Check Out: Bryan Ferry and friends – “Song to the Siren”

on October 14, 2010, 1:40pm

We picked Bryan Ferry‘s new album Olympia as one of our must buys for 2010’s last three months because of reasons like this: Track six, “Song to the Siren”, features — in no particular order — David Gilmour, Radiohead’s Johnny Greenwood, Nile Rodgers, and Roxy Music members Eno, Phil Manzanera, and Andy Mackay. I mean, with that many proven minds how can it not be good? Props to Stereogum for proving us right.

Olympia hits stores on October 26th via Astralwerks. Below, you can find a list of who plays what on “Song to the Siren”, along with the rest of the album’s tracklist.

Voice/Piano/Keyboards: Bryan Ferry
Guitars: Oliver Thompson, Phil Manzanera, David Gilmour, Nile Rodgers, Jonny Greenwood
Bass: Marcus Miller
Drums: Andy Newmark, Tara Ferry, Emily Dolan Davies
Percussion: Frank Ricotti
Synthesisers: Brian Eno, Colin Good
Electronics: John Monkman
Oboe: Andrew Mackay
Cello: Anthony Pleeth
Violins: Perry Montague-Mason, Emlyn Singleton
Viola: Vicci Wardman
Chorus: Seweuse Abwa, Hannah Khemoh, Aleysha Gordon
Voice: Tallulah Harlech
Additional Engineering: Sven Taits, Ash Howes

Olympia Tracklist:
01. You Can Dance
02. Alphaville
03. Heartache by Numbers
04. Me Oh My
05. Shameless
06. Song to the Siren
07. No Face, No Name, No Number
08. BF Bass (Ode to Olympia)
09. Reason or Rhyme
10. Tender Is the Night

No comments