Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Deerhoof to join Polyvinyl, release 10th album

on October 12, 2010, 10:40am

Deerhoof will take on quite a lofty challenge for its new album, at least if the title means anything. As Pitchfork reports, the San Francisco art rock band have titled their 10th studio album Deerhoof vs. Evil, and the album art (right) features stylized text over a backdrop of a heart and a mushroom cloud. Sheesh.

Furthermore, Deerhoof have left their longtime home at Kill Rock Stars to join Polyvinyl for the album, which comes out January 25th. Polyvinyl will put out the LP in various formats: CD, digital download, and a 2,000-copy limited edition 180-gram vinyl record. Or you could opt for a fourth option — buy a t-shirt and get the album in digital format for free. Oh, and Joyful Noise is also releasing 500, hand-numbered copies of the album on cassette tape.

As for the actual content, the mostly self-recorded Deerhoof vs. Evil includes nerdy perks sure to please any Deerhoof fan, like a cover of an instrumental from a Greek film soundtrack (“Let’s Dance the Jet”), or a song sung fully in Catalan (“Qui Dorm, Només Somia”).

See the rest of the tracklist below, along with the band’s remaining tour dates, which include shows with Xiu Xiu and Father Murphy, as well as playing at ATP’s Nightmare Before Christmas, the festival curated by Godspeed You! Black Emperor. Also, head over to Polyvinyl Records to download a track off the album, “The Merry Barracks”.

Deerhoof vs. Evil Tracklist:
01. Qui Dorm, Només Somia
02. Behold a Marvel in the Darkness
03. The Merry Barracks
04. No One Asked to Dance
05. Let’s Dance the Jet
06. Super Duper Rescue Heads!
07. Must Fight Current
08. Secret Mobilization
09. Hey I Can
10. C’Moon
11. I Did Crimes for You
12. Almost Everyone, Almost Always

Deerhoof 2010 Tour Dates:
10/11 – Portland, ME – Space Gallery *^
10/12 – Milford, CT – Daniel Street *^
10/13 – New York, NY – Le Poisson Rouge ^
12/03-05 – Minehead, UK @ ATP’s Nightmare Before Christmas

* with Xiu Xiu
^ with Father Murphy

No comments