The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

The Decemberists announce new album, The King Is Dead

on October 31, 2010, 12:50am

The Decemberists will look to kick off the 2011 music calendar with a bang when they drop their much anticipated sixth studio album on January 11th 18th via Capitol Records. According to Direct Current, the followup to 2009’s Hazards of Love will be titled The King Is Dead and will consist of 10 tracks, three of which feature collaborations with R.E.M. guitarist Peter Buck. In fact, the end result, according to frontman Colin Meloy, is a record heavily inspired by Buck’s legendary outfit, with a sound that is said to be more “straightforward, driving folk/rock.”

Of the 10 tracks included, Meloy and Co. have already debuted “Down By the Water”, “Rise to Me”, and “June Hymn” in live settings. (Click on the songs’ corresponding links to hear/watch live clips). The complete tracklist follows.

Update: You can grab the album’s first single, “Down By the Water”, below. Also, Pitchfork confirms the album’s January 18th release date.

The King Is Dead Tracklist:
01. Don’t Carry It All
02. Calamity Song
03. Rise to Me
04. Rox in the Box
05. January Hymn
06. Down By the Water
07. All Arise!
08. June Hymn
09. This Is Why We Fight
10. Dear Avery

No comments