The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

The Pipettes prep new album, Earth vs. The Pipettes

on October 04, 2010, 9:05am

British popsters The Pipettes are back with a new album, a whole new look, and are no longer an all-girl band. You see, The Pipettes are now a duo, with backing band The Cassettes taking on a more public role. They’ll offer the US their first glimpse of this new look when they drop their sophomore album, Earth vs. The Pipettes, on November 16th via Fortuna Pop!/Red Eye. The effort was released in UK release last month.

Having undergone several lineup changes since its 2006 debut, We Are the Pipettes, the band is now comprised of sisters Gwenno and Ani Saunders, Alex White (ex-Electric Soft Parade and Brakes) on drums, along with original members Monster Bobby (guitar), Jon (bass), and Seb (keyboard). The polka-dot dresses are gone, the backing band has stepped forward, and the group has taken on a more contemporary look while retaining its musical roots of unabashed pop. The Pipettes have also moved away from the all-female harmony group in favor of the disco pop sounds of the seventies and eighties.

Earth vs. The Pipettes is the band’s exploration of what it might be like if the sounds of the dance floor for the last 50 years were mashed up and recorded on another planet. From Marvin Gaye to The Human League to Studio 54, the influences are said to be heavily vibrant on tracks like “I Vibe You”, “Call Me”, “From Today”, and “Stop the Music”. The 12-track album was produced by the legendary Martin Rushent, who has worked with The Go-Go’s, Fleetwood Mac, and The Buzzcocks and also produced The Human League’s classic Dare.

No US tour dates have been announced as yet, but a tour is expected to be announced in the near future, so stay tuned for more news as we get it.

Earth vs. The Pipettes Tracklist:
01. Call Me
02. Aint No Talking
03. Thank You
04. Need A Little Time
05. History
06. I Always Planned To Stay
07. Stop the Music
08. I Vibe U
09. Our Love Was Saved By Spacemen
10. Finding My Way
11. Captain Rhythm
12. From Today

No comments