The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

Tom Petty’s Damn The Torpedoes gets a deluxe reissue

on October 18, 2010, 9:15am

There’s nothing like thinking you lost something, and then stumbling across it, long after you even remembered you had it. Like, 30 years after. Such is the case for some of the bonus material included in the Deluxe Edition of Damn The Torpedoes, due for release on November 9th. According to a slightly self-congratulatory 5-minute film about the history of the album as well as the reissue, as many as twenty-five hundred tapes (yes, 2,500 tapes) from the Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers vault were unearthed in search for bonus material to include on the Deluxe Edition, one of which contained the never-before-heard “Nowhere”, believed to be lost way back in 1979 during the Torpedoes sessions. The lost song joins eight other bonus tracks on the Deluxe Edition, six of which are also previously unreleased.

This release comes hot on the heels of the band’s recently completed North American tour in support of their latest album, Mojo. Seems like after 30+ years, this group has no problem staying busy.

Fans will be able to obtain this Deluxe Edition on pretty much any format they desire: 2CDs, 2LPs, Blu-Ray, or Download (sorry, cassette enthusiasts).

Damn The Torpedoes, The Deluxe Edition Tracklist:
Disc One – Original Album
02. Here Comes My Girl
03. Even The Losers
04. Shadow Of A Doubt (A Complex Kid)
05. Century City
06. Don’t Do Me Like That
07. You Tell Me
08. What Are You Doin’ In My Life?
09. Louisiana Rain

Disc Two – Bonus Tracks
Nowhere *
02. Surrender *
03. Casa Dega/B-side
04. It’s Rainin’ Again/B-side
05. Shadow Of A Doubt (A Complex Kid)/Live – Hammersmith Odeon 1980 *
06. Don’t Do Me Like That/Live – Hammersmith Odeon 1980 *
07. Somethin’ Else/Live – Hammersmith Odeon 1980 *
08. Casa Dega/Demo *
09. Refugee/Alternate Take *
* = Previously unreleased

No comments