The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

Jon Hopkins scores Monsters movie

on November 01, 2010, 5:05pm

It’s probably a safe bet that a few of you think of the University when you hear the name Jon Hopkins. Well, stop it; the school spells its name with an ‘h.’ The young composer from London known as Jon Hopkins typically works in the electronica domain and recently collaborated with Brian Eno on the upcoming Small Craft on a Milk Sea. He also did production work for Coldplay on Viva la Vida before touring with them as support on their 2008 trek. Hopkins has tweaked his sound a bit, though, as he has scored Magnet Releasing and Vertigo Films’ upcoming independent sci-fi flick, Monsters.

With an impressively stretched budget under $500,000 and a thinly veiled metaphor about America’s recent response to illegal immigration (think District 9, but closer to home), the film takes place six years after an alien infestation has consumed most of Mexico and Central America. As a photojournalist tries to get his boss’s daughter out of the infected zone and safely back to America’s east coast, Hopkins’ music sets the tone. According to, “Hopkins went for a more post-rock inspired sound than usual, complete with grand piano, dramatic strings and reverb-laden guitars.”

You can currently hear some excerpts from the score on the film’s official website. The soundtrack will be available on Double Six Records at the end of November. Peep the trailer and tracklist below.

Monsters Soundtrack Tracklist:
01. Prologue
02. Journey
03. Candles
04. Water
05. Underwater
06. Spores
07. Campfire
08. Dawn
09. Attack
10. Temple
11. Encounter
12. Monsters Theme

No comments