Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Pretty Lights starts record label, details first two releases

on January 07, 2011, 3:15pm

With the release of an immensely popular free EP series, and appearances at festivals nationwide, 2010 was definitely a success for Pretty Lights. When CoS chatted with Derek Vincent Smith, aka the creative force behind the live-electronic duo, in September of last year, Smith wanted to make one point clear: 2010 was just a launching pad for a busy 2011. And the Colorado-based producer isn’t wasting any time, announcing the formation of his own label, Pretty Lights Music, and the label’s first round of free digital releases.

Smith developed a simple objective for his new label: supply his fans, and fans of electronic music at large, with free music from the artists he believes in and supports. The label’s two newest releases each come from artists Smith has worked with in the past, Adam Deitch’s Break Science and Alex B’s new guise Paper Diamond. Deitch is currently the live Pretty Lights drummer, and Alex B’s former outfit, The Pnuma Trio, has shared numerous billings with Pretty Lights.

On January 25th, Break Science will release their new EP, Further Than Our Eyes Can See, and Paper Diamond will drop the debut EP, Levitate. Each EP will be available gratis at Pretty Lights Music. For now, check out Paper Diamond’s “From Now Till…” and “Zion Station” from Break Science.

Check Out:
Paper Diamond – “From Now Till…”
Break Science – “Zion Station”