Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Check Out: Afrobeta – “Nighttime”

on March 10, 2011, 3:30pm

There’s a running joke in Florida that says one has to know how to speak Spanish to get around in Miami, and while even a brief visit to the The Magic City often brings truth to the statement, what’s more interesting about the municipality some call Little Cuba is how the smorgasbord of cultures has created one of the most diverse music scenes in the country.

Latin influence has long infused the flavors of conga, rumba, bachata, and merengue into the local sound, and while up-and-coming folk-pop acts like Rachel Goodrich and Raffa and Rainer have made notable impressions, dance music has always been king.

Along with outfits like Awesome New Republic, the self-proclaimed “avant-dance” duo, Afrobeta, have been making a loud noise for quite some time. Their last EP – Do You Party? – was named one of the top 10 local music albums of 2010 by the New Broward Times, and now Cuci Amador and Smurphio are ready to try it again when they release their debut full length, Under The Streets, which is due this summer via Do IT Music group.

They’ve shared the effort’s third track – “Nighttime” – and if the four-minute cut is any indication of what’s to come then it’s safe to say that we can expect an update of what our own Derek Staples has called “bubble-gum pop that is located somewhere in between Peaches, Crystal Castles, and an 8-bit video game.” The original Nintendo vibe has been traded in for what sometimes sounds like less ominous, dubstep-style bass and more seductive vocals from Amador, who drops a verse of rapping where she sums up one of the coolest things about the M-I-A: “Everybody came here with nothing,” she says, “refugees looking for something.” If you’re looking for something to help you perk up on this Wednesday morning then just click the play button below.

Under The Streets’ tracklist is available below and you can catch Afrobeta when they play Ultra Music Festival in just a couple of weeks. Their EP is currently available at Amazon.com.

Afrobeta – “Nighttime”

Under The Streets Tracklist:
01. Two Different Worlds
02. Do You Party
03. Nighttime
04. As Long As You Like It
05. Play House
06. That Thing
07. Touch
08. Land Of Lost Lovers
09. Pistol Whip
10. Love Fur Life
11. Jealousy
12. The End
13. Love Is Magic

No comments