The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

Rolling Stones, PJ Harvey contribute to Ian Stewart tribute album

on March 31, 2011, 3:10pm

It was unclear whether “new” Rolling Stones tracks would actually hit the world’s collective eardrums, but now Music News Net has not only confirmed the speculation, but also unearthed a release date. That’s right, on April 19th (three days after a bank account draining Record Store Day) Stones fans can finally get their hands on Boogie 4 Stu, a Ben Waters-curated tribute album to “The Sixth Stone” – Ian Stewart — who passed away in December 1985 as a result of a heart attack.

The 11-track set features longtime Stones producer (and current Ryan Adams pal) Glynn Johns at the mixing board and finds Mick Jagger, Keith Richards, Charlie Watts, Ronnie Wood, and ex-Stones bassis Bill Wyman coming together to record a version of Bob Dylan’s “Watchin’ The River Flow”. The lineup doesn’t completely collaborate together for any other tracks, but Boogie does feature Richards, Watts, and Woods playing on versions of classics like Amos Milburn’s “Rooming House Boogie” and Big Maceo’s “Worried Life Blues”, the latter of which sees Richards on vocals.

Also contributing to the cause are Jools Holland and none other than Ms. Polly Jean Harvey who contributes her unique warble to a version of Ray Charles’ 1956 hit, “Lonely Avenue”. Eagle Records is handling the distribution, but pre-orders are happening at, and a complete tracklist is available below.

Boogie 4 Stu Tracklist:
01. Boogie Woogie Stomp
02. Rooming House Boogie
03. Worried Life Blues
04. Boogie For Stu
05. Make Me A Pallet On Your Floor
06. Midnight Blues
07. Lonely Avenue
08. Watching The River Flow
09. Roll Em’ Pete
10. Suitcase Blues
11. Bring It On Home To Me

No comments