The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

Sons and Daughters return with Mirror Mirror

on March 29, 2011, 3:00pm

sdmm2 Sons and Daughters return with Mirror Mirror

In our review for their 2008 album, This Gift, we commended Glaswegian band Sons and Daughters for their dedication to tinkering with a sound that had already proven a success. Despite a few years of inactivity, the band has returned to that same behavior with their forthcoming effort, Mirror Mirror, which is set to hit stores June 14th (via Domino Records).

To get to the heart of the new record, turn no further than to the album track “Silver Spell”. Featuring an increased vocal role for guitarist Scott Paterson, the song reinstates the band’s boy-girl dynamic that waned a bit on the foursome’s last effort. That return has led the band to create what singer Scott Patterson is calling their most balanced record. It also sums up the band’s aim with the record as “…something quite haunting and feminine” and “with an air of malevolence”, at least according to vocalist Adele Bethel.

The remainder of the album promises to be just as sparse. “We sound better when we’re more minimal. We wanted everything on the new album to be necessary, no added fluff, and only recording on 16-track,” Patterson said in a release.

Check out the track and tracklist below.

“Silver Spell”

Mirror Mirror Tracklist:
01. Silver Spell
02. The Model
03. Breaking Fun
04. Orion
05. Don’t Look Now
06. Ink Free
07. Rose Red
08. Axed Actor
09. Bee Song
10. The Beach

No comments