The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

Bon Iver details sophomore album

on April 20, 2011, 3:59pm

new bon iver  1024x1024 Bon Iver details sophomore album

Justin Vernon had a fun 12 months flying around the world on Yeezy’s dime. But on June 21st, he’ll rejoin the rest of his Bon Iver bandmates for the release of the band’s long-awaited sophomore LP (via Jagjaguwar). Entitled Bon Iver, Bon Iver, the 10-track effort was written by Vernon and recorded and mixed at April Base Studios over the last three years. According to an issued press release, the end result is “a lush landscape of silky electric guitars, intricate keys, and subtle horn and string sections, which retains the ghost choirs and densely layered vocals intact that Bon Iver is widely celebrated for.”

Along with Bon Iver regulars Sean Carey, Mike Noyce, and Matt McCaughan, the album features the pedal steel of Greg Leisz (Lucinda Williams, Bill Frisell) and a horn section including Colin Stetson (Tom Waits, Arcade Fire), Mike Lewis (Andrew Bird, Happy Apple), and C.J. Camerieri (Rufus Wainwright, Sufjan Stevens).

Ahead of the album’s release, you can catch the first glimpse of new music by watching the 50 second teaser video posted below. The tracklist is also posted below.

Bon Iver Tracklist:
01. Perth
02. Minnesota, WI
03. Holocene
04. Towers
05. Michicant
06. Hinnom, TX
07. Wash.
08. Calgary
09. Lisbon, OH
10. Beth/Rest

No comments