Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

The National to reissue Cherry Tree EP on June 28th

on April 29, 2011, 4:20pm

Last summer, Brassland reissued The National‘s first two albums — their 2001 self-titled debut and 2003’s Sad Songs for Dirty Lovers — on vinyl. On June 28th, the label, which was co-founded by the band’s Aaron and Bryce Dessner, will do the same to the 2004 EP Cherry Tree.

Originally released in July 2004, the 7-track effort includes “Reasonable Man (I Don’t Mind)” featuring Padma Newsome of Clogs, plus a live version of “Murder Me Rachael” from France Inter’s Black Sessions. The reissue, due for release on June 28th, will be limited to 3,000 copies, 500 of which will be pressed on a special edition red vinyl. The other 2,500 copies will be pressed on black vinyl.

According to Brassland, the red vinyl will be exclusively available via the label’s online store. Also, both the red and black editions will contain the third part of the triptych poster that was packaged in last year’s pressings of the first and second record. Below, you can stream a track off Cherry Tree in the form of “About Today” (via Brassland’s Bandcamp).

Brassland also tells us that there are plans for a box set featuring the vinyl reissues of the self-titled debut, Sad Songs for Dirty Lovers, and Cherry Tree, though nothing is official. In the meantime, the label will be celebrating its 10th anniversary with a series of upcoming giveaways, so it’d be a good idea to bookmark their website, Twitter, and Facebook.

No comments