Music Videos
The latest visual candy from your favorite artists

Watch: Moby – “The Day”

on April 21, 2011, 12:14pm

With his recent track “The Day”, off his forthcoming 10th studio album, Destroyed, Moby surprised us with a glammed-out, synth-heavy ode to Davie Bowie and Brian Eno. In a description of the track, Moby himself confirmed the track’s inspiration (“David Bowie and Brian Eno’s production circa Low and Heroes“). Continuing the anthemic feel of especially that latter release, Moby goes all metaphysical on the track’s official video, which just so happens to feature actress Heather Graham.

The clip, directed by Evan Bernard (who has directed Moby’s videos for “Disco Lies” and “New York, New York”), features, according to Moby, Graham in the role of a nurse/guardian angel “who gets to slaughter demons.” In case you don’t have an over-priced English degree to interpret the clip’s meaning, Bernard said the crux of the video was that “She (the angel) is the defender of righteousness. She represents good, and she’s defeating evil.” Even with the thinly-veiled Christian metaphors, the surreal imagery of Graham floating through the air and Moby performing on the ceiling like a spiritual Lionel Richie make for a true visual treat to accompany a sonic step toward the sublime.

Check out the video over at Cluster 1 and the tracklist below. Destroyed is scheduled to hit stores May 17th via Little Idiot/Mute Records.

Destroyed Tracklist:
01. The Broken Places
02. Be The One
03. Sevastopol
04. The Low Hum
05. Rockets
06. The Day
07. The Right Thing 15 When You Are Old
08. After
09. Victoria Lucas
10. Blue Moon
11. Lie Down In Darkness
12. Stella Maris
13. The Violent Bear It Away
14. Lacrimae
15. When You Are Old

No comments