The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

Update: Wilco readies debut single for new label, talks new album

on April 25, 2011, 9:00am

wilco Update: Wilco readies debut single for new label, talks new album

For a musical act, breaking off from the warmth and comfort of a record label is probably a frightening endeavor. But if you ask Wilco, they’d probably say their new label, dBpm Records, is going rather smoothly. At least, that’s what we assume the answer would be as the Chicago natives ready the release of their debut single on said label and continue work on their upcoming eighth album (via TwentyFourBit).

The 7″ vinyl will feature a song called “I Might” as the A-side and a cover of Nick Lowe’s “I Love My Label” (how appropriate) as the B-side. The single will be sold at this year’s Solid Sound Festival, which the band also runs, from June 24th-26th and then a month later “to the rest of the world” (read: possible digital format). Can’t bear the wait? Make sure to check out two brand new songs, “Born Alone” and “Open Your Mind”, frontman Jeff Tweedy recently debuted live.

In an interview with Spin, Tweedy also mentioned a few interesting factoids about the outfit’s follow-up to 2009’s Wilco (The Album). Among those tidbits, the album could be a double-disc record entitled Get Well Soon Everybody. Already, the group have recorded some 20 songs that include “experimental-leaning rock” cuts and “cinematic-sounding country music.” Songs that could make the final tracklist include a 14-minute, 10-verse song entitled “Song for Jane Smiley’s Boyfriend”, the aforementioned “Born Alone”, and “Art of Almost”, which Rolling Stone says “starts with shadowy electronics, gently turns into a haunted vocal section, then sprints into a Krautrock-style blowout.”

Update: In a separate interview with Rolling Stone, Tweedy confirmed that the album will see release in September. He also noted that Art of Almost”, “Black Moon”, and “Whole Love” will be among the included tracks.

As always, stay tuned for more on the album as it’s announced.

No comments