Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Check Out: Beyoncé – “1+1”

on May 25, 2011, 8:44pm

beyonce 11 Check Out: Beyoncé   1+1

In the process of creating her upcoming album, Beyoncé recorded some 60-plus songs for the LP. So far, two songs from those sessions have emerged: the album’s killer first single “Run the World (Girls)” and the weekend treat “Till The End Of Time” (which also made final cut). Now, a third offering comes in the form of “1+1”, which will serve as the album’s opening track.

Unlike the simple geometry taught in elementary school, there’s actually something of interest to the track. While previous Beyoncé offerings have ridden the back of some amazing beats (see “Sweet Dreams”), this recent cut sees the focus shifted toward Queen B’s amazing vocal range with a soft, almost non-existent backing beat. In a record reportedly about the singer finding herself creatively, influenced by Fela Kuti and Teena Marie, it’s the best lesson one could ever relearn: Beyoncé can sang!

Below, you can stream “1+1”, as well as watch Beyoncé debut the cut during an appearance on American Idol from last night. The track is also available as a free digital download to those who pre-order 4 on iTunes.

Update: The tracklist for 4 has also been revealed. “1+1” will open the 12-track effort, while “Run The World (Girls)” will serve as the closer. Also worth mentioning is the track titled “Party”, which features Outkast’s Andre 3000.

4 Tracklist:
01. 1+1
02. I Care
03. I Miss You
04. Best Thing I Never Had
05. Party (feat. Andre 3000)
06. Rather Die Young
07. Start Over
08. Love On Top
09. Countdown
10. End Of Time
11. I Was Here
12. Run The World (Girls)