The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

R.E.M. readies 25th anniversary edition of Lifes Rich Pageant

on May 03, 2011, 6:25pm

Back in the day, R.E.M. churned out a new album every 12 months. While that intense workload has slowed down some over the years, the band’s early efforts have left us with a 25th anniversary reissue series that brings an annual offering of unreleased goodies. After kicking off the series with a reissue of Murmur in 2008 and then following it up with re-releases of Reckoning and Fables of the Reconstruction in 2009 and 2010, respectively, R.E.M. will now set their sights on their fourth LP, Lifes Rich Pageant.

According to Slicing Up Eyeballs, Capital/I.R.S. will release the 25th anniversary edition on July 12th. The two-disc set will feature a newly remastered version of the 1986 album and a bonus CD that includes 19 unreleased demos.

The bonus disc is titled The Athens Demos and features material recorded in March 1986 at producer John Keane’s studio in Athens, GA. Most of the cuts are early versions of tracks that appeared on Lifes Rich Pageant or subsequent releases, but the disc does include a demo of an unreleased song called “Want”.

The reissue will be available as a 2-CD set and on 180-gram audiophile vinyl. Find the tracklist below:

Lifes Rich Pageant Tracklist:
Disc 1: Original Album
01. Begin The Begin
02. These Days
03. Fall on Me
04. Cuyahoga
05. Hyena
06. Underneath The Bunker
07. The Flowers of Guatemala
08. I Believe
09. What If We Give It Away?
10. Just a Touch
11. Swan Swan H
12. Superman

Disc 2: The Athens Demos (All Previously Unreleased)
(Recorded March 1986 at John Keane’s Studio, Athens GA)
01. Fall On Me
02. Hyena
03. March Song (King Of Birds)
04. These Days
05. Bad Day
06. Salsa (Underneath The Bunker)
07. Swan Swan H
08. Flowers Of Guatemala
09. Begin The Begin
10. Cuyahoga
11. I Believe
12. Out Of Tune
13. Rotary Ten
14. Two Steps Onward
15. Just A Touch
16. Mystery To Me
17. Wait
18. All The Right Friends
19. Get On Their Way (What If We Give It Away)

No comments