The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

New Jimi Hendrix live albums, DVDs, box set due in September

on June 17, 2011, 5:22pm

On September 13th, Legacy Records will unearth four new Jimi Hendrix live releases, the latest batch of titles to come out of the eight-year, worldwide licensing agreement between Hendrix’s family and Sony Music.

Of the releases, one will come in the form of a four-CD, eight-LP deluxe reissue of Hendrix’s 1987 live album, Live at Winterland. According to Exclaim, the box set expands on the 11 tracks included on the original release with 24 additional live recordings, a 36-page booklet, and an audio interview. All of the material included was drawn from six shows that took place during three days at San Francisco’s Winterland Ballroom in October 1968.

A reissue of Hendrix’s 1972 live album, Hendrix in the West, will also be released on September 13th. Available on CD and 2-disc LP, the expanded edition will include five additional, previously unavailable performances, plus a 24-page book filled with rare and previously unseen images captured by Jim Marshall.

Finally, Legacy will release two concert films: a reissue of the 2002 DVD Blue Wild Angel: Jimi Hendrix at the Isle of Wight, and a compilation of Hendrix’s appearances on The Dick Cavett Show, aptly titled Jimi Hendrix: The Dick Cavett Show.

Check out the tracklists for Winterland and Hendrix in the West below.

Jimi Hendrix Experience- Winterland Tracklist:
Disc One – 10/10/68 Winterland Ballroom, San Francisco
01. Tax Free
02. Lover Man
03. Sunshine of Your Love
04. Hear My Train A Comin
05. Killing Floor
06. Foxey Lady
07. Hey Joe
08. Star Spangled Banner
09. Purple Haze

Disc Two – 10/11/68 Winterland Ballroom, San Francisco
10. Tax Free
11. Like a Rolling Stone
12. Lover Man
13. Hey Joe
14. Fire
15. Foxey Lady
16. Are You Experienced
17. Red House
18. Purple Haze

Disc Three – 10/12/68 Winterland Ballroom, San Francisco
19. Fire
20. Lover Man
21. Like a Rolling Stone
22. Manic Depression
23. Sunshine of Your Love
24. Little Wing
25. Spanish Castle Magic
26. Red House
27. Hey Joe
28. Purple Haze
29. Wild Thing

Disc Four – Bonus disc Winterland Ballroom, San Francisco
30. Foxy Lady
31. Are You Experienced
32. Voodoo Child (Slight Return)
33. Red House
34. Star Spangled Banner
35. Purple Haze
36. Jimi Hendrix: Boston Garden Backstage Interview

Hendrix In The West Tracklist:
01. The Queen
02. Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band
03. Little Wing
04. Fire
05. I Dont Live Today
06. Spanish Castle Magic
07. Red House
08. Johnny B. Goode
09. Lover Man
10. Blue Suede Shoes
11. Voodoo Child (Slight Return)

1 comment