The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

Shonen Knife celebrates 30th anniversary with Ramones tribute

on June 16, 2011, 1:14pm

Punk music as a whole wouldn’t be what it is today without The Ramones. Had the gang not done what they did so well, there’d be none of that screw-the-man-let-us-have-fun lyricism, frenetic energy, or even leather jackets in the punk scene. So, to celebrate the best thing to come from Forest Hills, Queens, along with their own equally monumental 30th anniversary, Shonen Knife are dropping a Ramones tribute album. Comprised of 13 covers from the Ramones’ rich catalog, Osaka Ramones: Tribute to the Ramones hit stores July 19th. Hey ho, let’s go!

Osaka Ramones is actually the name of the side project the group have been using to play Ramones tunes. Produced in part by Robby Takac (bassist for the Goo Goo Dolls; how punk), the LP features several Ramones hits, including “Blitzkrieg Bop”, “Rockaway Beach”, and “Rock and Roll High School”. In a press release for the record, lead singer Naoko Yamano spoke about the group’s continuous influence on the Japanese outfit, saying, “Ramones were my all-time idols since I first heard their music from a radio and rushed to a record shop. I’m very happy to release an Osaka Ramones project and to recognize their contri­bution to the evolution of Shonen Knife.”

Check out the tracklist below. Along with the LP, the band also have plans to announce a tour of North America shortly (for now it’s just a gig at Fuji Rock Festival on the old itinerary.) Osaka Ramones: Tribute to the Ramones hits stores July 19th via Good Charamel Records.

Osaka Ramones: Tribute to the Ramones Tracklist:
01. Blitzkrieg Bop
02. Rock and Roll High School
03. We Want The Airwaves
04. She’s The One
05. Rockaway Beach
06. Sheenah Is A Punk Rocker
07. Scattergun
08. Psychotherapy
09. The KKK Took My Baby Away
10. We’re A Happy Family
11. Chinese Rock
12. Beat on the Brat
13. Pinhead

No comments