New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Check Out: Kathleen Hanna & Peaches rock The Runaways’ “Dead End Justice” (CoS Premiere)

on July 05, 2011, 6:07pm

various take it or leave it runaways tribute Check Out: Kathleen Hanna & Peaches rock The Runaways Dead End Justice (CoS Premiere)

While there wasn’t any turkey or presents exchanged yesterday, it was still a glorious day for Americans: Independence Day, a time when citizens celebrate the founding principles of the U.S.A. as tirelessly laid out by our Founding Fathers by grilling meat and blowing shit up. To celebrate The Runaways, those founding Mothers of girl-powered rock and roll, Kathleen Hanna and Peaches have teamed with Hanna’s hubby Ad-Rock and cooked up their own explosive gift with a cover of “Dead End Justice”. The track, a part of the two-disc Take It Or Leave It: A Tribute To the Queens of Noise covers compilation, can be heard below; as one might expect from these particular artists working together, it’s one-part electro-rock madness combined gracefully (?) with a jumbled riot grrrl chorus. God Bless America, and God Bless The Runaways.

Take It Or Leave It: A Tribute To the Queens of Noise is available now at select retailers and online stores.

[audio:|titles=Kathleen Hanna and Peaches – “Dead End Justice” (Produced by Ad-Rock)”]

Take It Or Leave It: A Tribute To the Queens of Noise Tracklist:
Disc One
01. The Donnas – “Queens of Noise”
02. Shonen Knife – “Black Leather”
03. The Binges – “I Love Playing With Fire”
04. Bebe Buell Band – “Heartbeat”
05. Deena & The Laughing Boys – “Lovers”
06. Frankenstein 3000 – “California Paradise”
07. Delrium Tremens – “Wasted”
08. Richie Scarlet – “Wild Thing”
09. Blue Fox – “Neon Angels On the Road to Ruin”
10. The Easy Outs – “Is It Day Or Night” (feat. Gar Francis)
11. Laura Warshauer – “Little Lost Girls”
12. White Flag – “C’mon”
13. Cali Giraffes – “You’re Too Possesive”
14. Tara Elliot & The Red Velvets – “You Drive Me Wild”
15. Planet Sorrow – “Thunder”
16. Robbie Rist – “Yesterday’s Kids”
17. Serpenteens – “Little Sister”
18. Adolescents – “School Days”
19. Blue Fox – “Dirty Magazines” (feat. Sandy West)
Disc Two
01. The Dandy Warhols – “Cherry Bomb”
02. Richard Barone – “Hollywood”
03. Care Bears On Fire – “Saturday Night Special” (feat. Earl Slick)
04. Derwood Andrews – “Gotta Get Out Tonight”
05. David Johansen – “Blackmail”
06. The Ribeye Brothers – “Trash Can Murders”
07. Digger Phelps – “Rock & Roll”
08. Toilet Boys – “Born To Be Bad”
09. The Swales – “Midnight Music”
10. Frankenstein 3000 – “American Nights” (feat. Cherie Currie)
11. F-13 – “I Wanna Be Where The Boys Are”
12. The Stay At Homes – “Getting’ Hot”
13. Kittie – “Fantasies”
14. Starz – “Waitin’ For The Night”
15. Jack Brag – “Secrets”
16. Clinical Trials – “Don’t Go Away”
17. Kathleen Hanna & Peaches – “Dead End Justice” (Produced by Ad-Rock)

No comments