New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Check Out: Opeth – “The Devil’s Orchard”

on July 26, 2011, 5:30pm

opeth heritage Check Out: Opeth   The Devils Orchard

Despite the fact that Opeth are preparing their 10th studio album, Heritage, for release this September, band mastermind Mikael Åkerfeldt has said this record is particularly special. “I]t feels like I’ve been building up to write for and participate on an album like this since I was 19,” he told Stereogum. And the record’s first track, “The Devil’s Orchard”, does its damnedest to back that sentiment up.

Featuring a big, rollicking sound drawing from the blues and jazz of the South as much as it does from the eternal hellfire of the Underworld, the track’s grand feel makes us think Åkerfeldt has hit a newfound strive. It’s also a great follow-up to the near-five-star work of 2008’s Watershed. Check out “The Devil’s Orchard” below.

Produced by Åkerfelt and mixed in part with Porcupine Tree frontman Steven Wilson, the album also features cameos by Swedish flautist/composer Björn J:son Lindh and Weather Report percussionist Alex Acuña. Heritage hits stores September 20th via Roadrunner Records.

Heritage Tracklist:
01. Heritage
02. The Devil’s Orchard
03. I Feel the Dark
04. Slither
05. Nepenthe
06. Haxprocess
07. Famine
08. The Lines in My Hand
09. Folklore
10. Marrow of the Earth

1 comment