The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

Brian Wilson details Disney cover compilation: In the Key of Disney

on August 19, 2011, 6:11pm

brianwilson452 Brian Wilson details Disney cover compilation: In the Key of Disney

Having previously paid homage to George and Ira Gershwin, legendary singer-songwriter and Beach Boy Brian Wilson announced plans earlier this year for another reimagining album, this time comprised of Disney tunes. In October, the world will bear witness to that magical musical marriage when In the Key of Disney hits stores.

According to Pitchfork, the 11-track effort sees Wilson tackling a number of classics from the Disney catalog, ranging from Pinocchio‘s “When You Wish Upon a Star” to Elton John’s Lion King classic “Can You Feel the Love Tonight?” Right now, you can  head here to listen to Wilson’s take on “Heigh-Ho” and “Whistle While You Work” from Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs.

Of the decision to tackle Disney songs, Wilson told USA Today, “The Beach Boys sound and the Disney people make a fantastic collaboration. I tried to do justice to all their songs.” We’re sure Jiminy Cricket won’t be dissapointed.

In the Key of Disney is available October 25th via Disney Pearl Records.

In the Key of Disney Tracklist:
01. You’ve Got a Friend in Me (from Toy Story)
02. Bare Necessities (from The Jungle Book)
03. Baby Mine (from Dumbo)
04. Kiss the Girl (from The Little Mermaid)
05. Colors of the Wind (from Pocahontas)
06. Can You Feel the Love Tonight? (from The Lion King)
07. We Belong Together (from Toy Story 3)
08. I Just Can’t Wait to Be King (from The Lion King)
09. Stay Awake (from Mary Poppins)
10. Heigh-Ho/Whistle While You Work (from Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs)
11. When You Wish Upon a Star (from Pinocchio)