New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Cass McCombs to release second album in 2011: Humor Risk

on August 18, 2011, 12:35pm

humorrisk cover web Cass McCombs to release second album in 2011: Humor Risk

In April, singer-songwriter Cass McCombs released a truly minimalist and depressing album in Wit’s End. This November will see the release of McCombs’ second album of the year with the decidedly more musically upbeat Humor Risk.

Recorded in various homes and studios in California, New York, New Jersey, and Chicago. McCombs once again teamed up with Ariel Rechtshaid, who co-produced Wit’s End and 2009’s Catacombs, for this eight-track effort. According to press for the LP, McCombs hopes to paint a new side of himself, one not seen with our last look into the artist. “Humor Risk is an attempt at laughter instead of confusion, chaos instead of morality, or, as fellow Northern Californian Jack London said, ‘I would rather be ashes than dust!’. Musically, it is more rhythm-based, tempos swifter to nearly rocking, than the sparse Wit’s End.”

McCombs is also offring up the first taste of the album in “The Same Thing”, which is available for streaming below or for download here. As promsied, this sneak peek  has a larger, more lush sound, but one that doesn’t remove McCombs’ solemn songwriting sensibilities in order to grow.

Humor Risk is in stores November 8th via Domino. Pre-orders are available here.

Cass McCombs – “The Same Thing”

Humor Risk Tracklist:
01. Love Thine Enemy
02. The Living Word
03. The Same Thing
04. To Every Man His Chimera
05. Robin Egg Blue
06. Mystery Mail
07. Meet Me At the Mannequin Gallery
08. Mariah (sketch)

No comments