Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Paul Weller announces new album: Sonik Kicks

on November 22, 2011, 12:56pm

Next year, the Modfather returns – that is, Paul Weller. On March 27th, the former Jam frontman will release Sonik Kicks, his 11th studio album and follow up to 2010’s Mercury Prize Award-nominated LP, Wake Up the Nation.

As a press release notes, the album’s 14 tracks “[mix] pop art punch with soulful communication” and showcase “jazzy explorations into psychedelia and dub with razor-sharp melodies and abstract soundscapes with clear-eyed forest-folk.” If that weren’t enough, it also sports collaborations with Noel Gallagher (Oasis) and Graham Coxon (Blur). Talk about a real UK block party, eh?

Currently, Rolling Stone is offering a sneak peek with a stream of the album’s lead single, “Around the Lake”, on their site. Next week, fans will be able to pick up the track when it hits iTunes.

To support the new release, Weller will perform the album in full come March 18th and 19th at London’s own The Roundhouse. Tickets go on sale this Friday, November 25th. Stay tuned for US dates, as well.

Sonik Kicks hits streets March 27th via Yep Roc Records. Check out the tracklist below.

Sonik Kicks Tracklist:
01. Green
02. The Attic
03. Kling I Klang
04. Sleep of the Serene
05. By the Waters
06. That Dangerous Age
07. Study in Blue
08. Dragonfly
09. When Your Garden’s Overgrown
10. Around The Lake
11. Twilight
12. Drifters
13. Paperchase
14. Be Happy Children

No comments