Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Lee Fields announces new album: Faithful Man

on December 14, 2011, 2:16pm

 Lee Fields announces new album: Faithful Man

Contemporary R&B music had a banner year in 2011, but one artist is looking to bring it back to its soulful roots with a new album. No, not Sharon Jones; this guy helped discover Sharon Jones. Forty-three year veteran of the scene Lee Fields is set to release his followup to 2009’s My World on March 13th via Truth & Soul. With Faithful Man, Fields aims to remain true to the funky soul sound while giving it a modern spin.

Produced by Truth & Soul Records co-owners Jeff Silverman and Leon Michels (Aloe Blacc, Adele, Jay-Z), Faithful Man “interprets and then pushes the formulas of good soul.” Fields’ raw style was part of the foundation for what became the deep funk movement, and that raucous sound continues to progress even into his fifth decade on the scene. The new album embraces his vintage funk and soul touch in songs of “love, heartbreak and blues in the time-honored way.”

For an early taste of the results, check out lead single “You’re The Kind Of Girl” below. Full of smooth wah wah, bursting horns, and even a tender spoken word break, it’s a mark of the album’s comfortable focus on classic stylings. Describing the song to Rolling Stone, Fields said, “to anyone out there in search of that special someone, or who wants to tell their special someone what they mean to them, play that song.” So dim the lights, burn the candles, and let’s get it on.

“You’re The Kind Of Girl”:

Faithful Man Tracklist:
01. Faithful Man
02. I Still Got It
03. You’re The Kind Of Girl
04. I’m Still Hanging On
05. Intermission
06. Wish You Were Here
07. Who Do You Love
08. Moonlight Mile
09. It’s All Over But The Crying
10. Walk On Through That Door

No comments