Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Metallica releases Beyond Magnetic EP

on December 12, 2011, 10:00pm

metallica beyond magnetic Metallica releases Beyond Magnetic EP

As part of their 30th anniversary concerts in San Francisco last week, Metallica performed four previously unreleased tracks from the Death Magnetic sessions, which they then released to members of their fan club.  Now, as an issued press release reports, the band is releasing all four tracks — “Hate Train”, “Just A Bullet Away”, “Hell And Back”, and “Rebel of Babylon” — as a digital EP entitled Beyond Magnetic. Beginning this week, the EP will be available exclusively on iTunes in North America, with a global digital release to follow next week.

As the band explains:

“During the Death Magnetic album sessions in 2007 and 2008, we originally recorded 14 songs. When it came time to pick the songs for the final album, we decided on 10 songs that you’ve all come to know over the last three years… Some of you may have heard bits and pieces of those other songs on ‘Mission Metallica’ (remember ‘Mission Metallica’?!) or heard rumors about them during the recording process, and wondered, ‘What ever happened to those other four songs???.’ We kept them in the vault and decided to pull them just for this special celebration, so here are the four leftover tracks from the Death Magnetic sessions. They are ROUGH mixes, unfinished to their original degree of mixing from March ’08. These four songs were released as gift to our closest fans, the members of our Fan Club, to enjoy. Now they’re being made available to you.”

Beyond Magnetic EP Tracklist:
01. Hate Train
02. Just A Bullet Away
03. Hell And Back
04. Rebel Of Babylon