Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Patrick Watson announces new album: Adventures in Your Own Backyard

on January 26, 2012, 4:58pm

patrick watson adventures Patrick Watson announces new album: Adventures in Your Own Backyard

After five years pounding pavement behind his 2007 Polaris Prize winning Close to Paradise and its Polaris nominated followup Wooden Arms, Patrick Watson took respite in his Montreal apartment to craft his next album. The fruit of the indie pop singer/songwriter’s labor is Adventures In Your Own Backyard, a new LP due May 1st. Watson says the record, his first on Domino and Secret City, is his band’s attempt to “make the kind of music we would want to listen to at home”; fitting that’s where it was recorded, then.

For some insight into what Watson and his band, The Wooden Arms, enjoy playing in their pads, check out the track “Into Giants”. The first single off Adventures…, the song is a lavishly dramatic piece of uplifting exuberance. Blustering horns and voracious vocals belting the refrain (“started as lovers/don’t know where it’s gonna end”) keep it teeming with emotion. Have a listen and download it yourself using the widget below.

Adventures In Your Own Backyard is out May 1st in the States and April 30th worldwide via Domino and Secret City. Watson will support the release with spots at South by Southwest and opening for Andrew Bird. See the complete album tracklist and tour schedule below.

Adventures In Your Own Backyard Tracklist:
01. Lighthouse
02. Blackwind
03. Step Out For A While
04. The Quiet Crowd
05. Into Giants
06. Morning Sheets
07. Words In The Fire
08. The Things You Do
09. Strange Crooked Road
10. Noisy Sunday
11. Adventures In Your Own Backyard
12. Swimming Pools

Patrick Watson Tour Dates:
03/14-03/17 – Austin, TX @ South by Southwest
05/03 – Philadelphia PA @ Union Transfer *
05/04 – New York NY @ Beacon Theatre *
05/06 – Boston MA @ House of Blues *
05/08 – Washington DC @ The 930 Club *
05/09 – Baltimore MD @ RamsHead Live *

* = w/ Andrew Bird

1 comment